Author Topic: Show Dogs?  (Read 5261 times)

Kirsti

Show Dogs?
« on: August 29, 2006, 01:11:39 pm »
Hi! I was wondering what you guys think is the pro's and con's of having a show dog?  And having one AKC registerd.. I've never done that before, all the dogs I've got where mutts... so is that a good idea? Imput please! Thank you all!

Offline MSF

• Veteran Dog Chomper
    • View Profile
Re: Show Dogs?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2006, 01:40:24 pm »
my opinion, not to offend, just my opinion
1) Way to political
2) Dog can't just be a dog
3) Paying for someone opinion which varies from judge to judge
4) Most show dogs are not built for what their intended use was. Another words, what is a functional dog may not be what they are looking for in the show ring. Seen it with Sibes, Alaskan Malamutes, the todays Mastiff doesn't look anything like Mastiffs 20 and 40 years ago.
People often think they can improve on what God already made years back.
I've seen this in the show ring with horses, dogs, cats, (a siamese doesn't look like the siamese of 20 to 30 years ago.

Showing to me is just paying for someone elses opinion.
Now show people be nice, it is an opinion and we all have one. ;)

cricket36580

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2006, 03:35:14 pm »
I think you show for the love of the breed.  You didn't specifically say conformation shows so I'm including ALL shows in my general opinion. 

I think it's a wonderful way to network with other people who are in love with a breed and are working to preserve it.  You do get an "authoritative" view of your animals good and bad points.  It gives the dogs a job in many cases.  And more and more are working as well as showing.