Author Topic: Help! Its my first time!  (Read 14335 times)

Offline YayIgetaBIGdog!

• Gnawer
    • View Profile
Help! Its my first time!
« on: July 27, 2005, 08:45:08 pm »
Hi.  I am very excited!  On Friday my husband I and I are getting a great dane.  We have limited experience with dogs.  We had an adorable 10lb ball of fluff.  My husband was scared of dogs, so we started small.  My little guy had to be put down after we had him for 1 year.  My husband is now feeling brave enough for a big dog (which I have always wanted).  So.  We are getting this great dane.  We are ready to love him lots, but aside from that is there any advice you could share with me?  I don't even know what advice to ask for specifically.   ::)
Thank you!

GYPSY JAZMINE

Re: Help! Its my first time!
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2005, 08:49:22 pm »
I got my Samson when he was 14 weeks old & all but unsocialized.. .He was my 1st dog & we have done wonderfully!...I think my best advise to offer is to socialize...so cialize...soci alize!!!!...Get the pupper out around people & new things...Makes for a calmer, better behaved dog...Also, crate train...We had minimal accidents in the house & we crate trained sammy...It not only kept him safe when I couldn't be with him but it makes housebreaking a breeze!...He doesn't have his crate anymore but, when we needed it, it was a God send!

Offline DixieSugarBear

• Golden Paws
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2005, 08:53:36 pm »
Welcome, my best advise is to ask any and all questions you come up with on this board.  There are so many great people here all day and night there will be someone to help out with most any issue.  Make sure to take him to the vet for a check over as soon as you get him.  Have lots and lots of toys for him to chew on. 

Lisa

Lisa, owned by the following:
Sugar Bear - Great Pyrenees 4.5 yr.
Dixie Darlin - Great Pyrenees 4 yr.
Penny Lane - Great Pyrenees 2.5 yr.
Beauman - Great Pyrenees 14 months