Author Topic: awesome support  (Read 3297 times)

Offline karateblossom

• Veteran Dog Chomper
  • skin and fur family of many children from ages 5 to 14 living at home; and eng mastiff named odin and a siamese named april. we are like alvin and the chipmunks meet garfield!
    • View Profile
awesome support
« on: December 18, 2007, 01:43:40 pm »
I'm new to bpo and although I'm limited on my internet capabilities for psting pics, I find bpo a wonderful place to read about how others coexist with our giant furry companions.  since this is also a gripe forum, I wanted to share an alternate perspective regarding cohabitation.. ......for those of us who have bothe Giant Breeds and children, we know all too well that neither can be controlled 100% of the time.  A pets only park (similar to an adults only apartment complex or a seniors only housing development... sun city) would seem appropriate for those who may not have children or who have a more challenging time with the spirited children....bo ys!  :)  As a mastiff owner, I knew that he would draw attention, no matter where we went so I made sure he has been exposed to manhandling kiddos since he was 8 weeks old.  hands in mouth, taking treats n toys, soft mouth training, stay and leave it(my favs) and a mountain of other tolerance trainig steps to ensure my 200 lb horse was prepared for the attention he would receive.