Author Topic: dog agression.....  (Read 5655 times)

Offline newf_owner

• Veteran Dog Chomper
    • View Profile
dog agression.....
« on: July 23, 2009, 07:14:20 pm »
im new to owing a newf but not to dogs, i have a 3 year old aussie, and i just got rota, my 3 month old newf, if things dont change and soon im going to have to get rid of him for his own good,

my australian shephard is showing him so much agression, he has attacked him and bitten his ear, rota wasnt seriously hurt but it scared the crap out of both of us, i dont know how to handle this, hes gone after him 3 times and he stares him down i have to have my hands constantly on cosby (my aussie) to be sure he wont dart after him, hes very quick when it happens, any advice?

rota is a puppy and shows cosby no manners in the dog world i fear maybe he wasnt kept with his parents, he aproaches straight up to cosbys face (which most of you would know to an adult male dog thats cause for a fight) and he wants to play and he bounces at him this is when cosby attacks, ive even had to grab rota off cosbys back, rota trys to mount cosby which is like a huge NO NO, thats a sign of dominance, is there any hope for then to get along?

please help

Offline patrick

• Paw-meister
    • View Profile
    • Great Pyrenees
Re: dog agression.....
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2009, 08:03:58 pm »
First of all it is OK for the adult to discipline a rude puppy- that is how they learn their doggy manners.  Whenever I have a litter they start spending time with different adults specifically for this training from the time they are about 7 weeks old.  They get rolled, pinned, snapped at and generally terrorized (at least in their minds) when they get out of line- and quickly learn to be more polite around other dogs.  My adults have had some training from me to not be too rough with the babies and no-one ever gets hurt. But there are a lot of hurt puppy feelings in the process- they will survive!