Author Topic: IBD? Help!  (Read 10983 times)

Offline BluHoov

• Gnawer
    • View Profile
IBD? Help!
« on: April 28, 2005, 12:20:44 pm »
My Weim is currently being tested for Irritable Bowel Disorder.  He has had severe diarrhea for weeks and is currently on medication to alleviate his discomfort and help him return to a normal schedule.  
I have done some research on IBD, but I am wondering if anyone has any advice for me and my pooch.  Or if anyone is ever been misdiagnosed?  Also, pet insurance stated that they will not allow him on a policy with IBD!  Help!

GYPSY JAZMINE

Re: IBD? Help!
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2005, 02:51:43 pm »
I've no experience with dogs & IBD but my Miane Coone mix (cat) was diagnosed with it a few years back...They gave her a shot of steroid which they said would only help for awhile...I switched her food & have never had a problem with her since...She was on Science Diet & even the formula for sensative stomachs was too rich for her...Maybe try something as simple as switching his food if the tests don't show something obvious.

Offline mastiffmommy

• Chief "All Knowing"
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2005, 10:29:44 pm »
I agree with previous poster, going to another food may help a lot. The food issue seems to be coming up at a lot of places on here, but I truly believe that no matter what breed the food we give them is of utmost importance, and the big guys we have, even more so. Do some reserach and maybe give him another food. Other than that I have been blessed, and have no personal experience with IBD.

I feel for you though, it is always horrible when our babies are not feeling well, but I will keep my fingers crossed for you and your baby. Please keep us posted with what happens.

Good Luck

Marit
what the lion is to a cat, the mastiff is to a dog

Offline BluHoov

• Gnawer
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2005, 08:32:10 am »