Author Topic: What to feed our Newfie???  (Read 5066 times)

Offline IZ

• Ankle Biter
    • View Profile
What to feed our Newfie???
« on: December 06, 2005, 09:04:10 pm »
I am new to Big Paws - love it!!! We just brought home our first Newfie - named IZ - he's 10 weeks old. We are stumped on what to feed. We are totally against the commercial/grocery store foods. We think the Raw diet too dangerous; the "organic foods" still have chemicals. We found a book by William Cusick with a specifc diet you cook at home for a Newfoundland. (He also writes books for other breeds - he has a website). Has anyone tried this diet? Any thoughts? Our last dog (Golden retriever) died of cancer - and we will do ANYTHING to keep our new boy healthy! :)
Jennifer - IZ's Mom

"I like my daddy better".  -Iz

Offline Fumble

• BPO Guru
    • View Profile
Re: What to feed our Newfie???
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2005, 09:32:51 pm »
what food did your breeder use???  or did they offer any suggestions??? i know not a lot of dogs like it, but fumble LOVES proplan... we had him on giant breed puppy until he was 4 mos. old and now hes on Pro plan performance.  Also, you should look into giving him some supplements with his meals, like glucoasmine/chondroitin, vitamin C, and maybe some flax seed oil for his fur!  my breeders have had great success with these supplements, as well as two others.. MegaCplus and Vitasorb... Hope that helped a little, and i'm sure that the other newfie and bigpaws owners are going to be glad to give you some advice as well!!  the more the better in my mind! :)
"My newfoundlands live my life as passionately as i live theirs"
"I slip the hater of what i've become.  they slip the halter of what they've been, and we live together, passionately, changed"
-Both from "in the company of newfies"

WE REPRESENT THE LOLLIPOP GUILD!!!

Offline Winslow 151

• Paw-meister
  • Winslow at 6 Months
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2005, 09:48:24 pm »
Hi,