Author Topic: i sooooooooooooooo need parenting advice!  (Read 4702 times)

Offline brigid67

• BPO Guru
  • Dream And Desire
    • View Profile
Re: i sooooooooooooooo need parenting advice!
« Reply #15 on: December 07, 2006, 11:36:09 pm »
I know I am jumping into this a little late but I have some experience with this as well.  Being potty trained is about the only thing a toddler can really control about their environment.  And IMO, the more you fight and get upset the worse it is going to be.  I know how frustrating it can be and how it is easy to lose control and act frustrated or angry with your kids, but this will cause the same reaction from them.  Maybe if you relax a bit - don'tmake a big deal out of it and see if eventually he will decide" you know being potty trained is not such a bad deal."  We used a potty chart with  my son with stars.  We had it in the bathroom and when he got 5 stars he got a prize.  My girlfriend went to the 99 cent store and got a box full of little toys and wrapped them up.  Everytime her daughter went pee she got one toy to unwrap and poop was 2 toys.  That worked pretty weel.. It is using positive reinforcment.  Much like training your dogs.  Toddlers are really good at know exactly what pushes your buttons and they they will keep pushing because they are testing their boundries. 

Offline Stacey

• Grand Master
  • Tonka
    • View Profile
    • myspace
« Reply #16 on: December 07, 2006, 11:48:01 pm »
We had it in the bathroom and when he got 5 stars he got a prize.  My girlfriend went to the 99 cent store and got a box full of little toys and wrapped them up.  Everytime her daughter went pee she got one toy to unwrap and poop was 2 toys. 
I did the same thing with my daughter.  I had a closet full of dollar store toys, and she would get "potty prizes" for going a full day with out an accident. :D