Author Topic: Newbie here and question!  (Read 5151 times)

Offline da-bear

• Gnawer
    • View Profile
Newbie here and question!
« on: August 02, 2005, 03:35:29 pm »
Hi!  I've been looking for a Saint message board!!  This is great!

My little girl, Millie, will be a whole year old sometime this month - she is a rescue, so i don't have very much information on her background.  We found her at a shelter at 7 months old (how could you give up that face!!)

I would love to know if you saint owners have had the same troubles we have had in her training.  Do you find that your Saint is slow to follow commands?  Stubborn maybe?  I don't want to think that she's ... not bright... but she is definitely not as quick to learn as our other dog (some kind of terrier-mix). Depending on her mood (and how tired she is) Most of the time she'll just stare at me when i ask her to "come".  And then usually you see the wheels turning, and then maybe eventually she'll get up...  Kind of funny to see, but not good enough!!

« Last Edit: August 02, 2005, 03:37:39 pm by da-bear »

Offline Jaimie

• Big Paws-a-holic
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie here and question!
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2005, 03:48:45 pm »
I have no experience with Saints but I am sure someone on here will be along shortly to help you.  Millie is beautiful, you just couldn't give up that face, no way.

Offline Anky

• Supreme Drooler
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2005, 04:27:33 pm »
I don't have a Saint either, but I have a Great Dane, and many people's conception of them is that they're dumb and hard to train.  They're not if you do it right.  They get bored very easily, and constant repitition is a no no.  If they do it like 3 times in a row, call it a day.  It's very difficult for people who're used to more intense dogs to get used to, but it's just the way they learn.

Ang
BPO's Official Mistress of Mirth

Charter Member of the Official Suspicious Chicken Fan Club