Author Topic: Not Everyone's a Newbie Who Looks It!!  (Read 11415 times)

Offline Janisjin

• Gnawer
    • View Profile
    • Photos of Toku & Logan
Not Everyone's a Newbie Who Looks It!!
« on: August 04, 2005, 01:36:09 pm »
I am a newbie to a lot of things concerning dogs. I'll be the first to admit it. I take my puppy to kindergaten classes and to agility classes. why? Because I'm not an expert and can't possibly train him myself. and when he's older, we're going to conformation handling classes. why? b/c I'm a newbie. I've never shown a dog.

BUT, I'm not a newbie to basic dog care or to my breed.

I have a puppy akita and those aren't extremely rare but they definitely aren't "popular" in seattle. Several trainers I've called before enrolling in classes have never taught an akita. 

I just can't stand everyone who automatically becomes an akita expert or a vet, even though they aren't when I go to parks or take my pup on walks.

I'm 5'3", asian, and look as if I'm 19 years old (but I'm a freakin' attorney!! I'm much OLDER) and everyone wants to tell me how to raise my pup and everyone just assumes I'm feeding him kibble n' bits and not training him even though he almost always has his eyes pinned on me and listening to what I'm saying/doing. They all talk down to me and say, well, you should start obedience classes b/c akitas can be mean" and they go into a tirade about the breed's history, what they were used for, etc. as if I just bought my dog off a bum on the street without thorough research. These people have only "read" of akitas, not actually owned one.  This is my second akita, if you count my half breed I rescued. I've been researching akitas and been wanting one for over 5 years now. My friend in Houston breeds and showed akitas so I asked her tons of questions and had tons of exposure to them (I'm no expert, but I certainly know as much as one can from reading and asking people).