Author Topic: Bloodhound Skin Problem  (Read 5626 times)

Offline queen3780

• Gnawer
    • View Profile
Bloodhound Skin Problem
« on: November 15, 2008, 05:30:09 am »
Hello everyone.  I am new to the BP and this is my first post.  I have a 3 year old Bloodhound working dog.  She has terrible skin problems that seem to attack just her belly and chest.  She is constantly itching these areas to the point of bleeding.  Vet is not sure what her problem is, but has her on 20 mg of Prednisone.  He says its not healthy for her to be on it long term. 

The second I stop giving it to her she's itching again.  Its a large patch of rashy-looking redness with raised bumps and she's pretty much worn the hair off from scratching.  I've switched her food and now she eats lamb and rice.  No change.  She does swim in our pool constantly, even in the winter, but the vet doesnt think its that cuz its only on her belly. 

Any ideas??

Viking Lady

Re: Bloodhound Skin Problem
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2008, 05:56:52 am »
Hi
I shouldn't even reply because I don't know the answer. I know itchy rashes are so miserable and I feel bad for both of you. I was just wondering....i f it is red and raised is it possible it has anything to do with yeast? I am only saying that because of diaper rashes and I know they aren't the same but..........
There are ointments for yeast or even athlete's foot.
Just a thought...

Icerotti

« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2008, 06:06:37 am »
Could it be an contact allergy? Perhaps she is allergic to a certain grass, weed etc in your area? Have you tried giving her Bendryl?

I use Isles Paste when our Weim gets a rash on her tummy. It is usually found in the baby isle. I actully found out about it when my daughter was young and would really bad diaper rashes. The only thing is it is really thick and pastey--so I would watch your furniture.. ;) I still use it when my daughter gets a rash on her legs or arms--she has very sensitive skin