Author Topic: Hi! I'm a newbie  (Read 5452 times)

Offline Silky&Baron

• Gnawer
  • Baron: Great Pyrenees/Border Collie; 15 months
    • View Profile
Hi! I'm a newbie
« on: February 16, 2006, 11:39:26 pm »
Hi all. I just got the link to this off another board. I LOVE big dogs, but unfortunately, at this point, I can't afford to care for a huge dog (I really want a saint bernard, and a mastiff), so for now I have to console myself with my two large breeds.
I have Silky a 6 y/o, Standard Poodle/German Shepherd mix who weighs about 65 pounds. One of the easiest dogs I've ever trianed, she learns commands (except heel) within doing them three times usually, and got the overprotective ness from both parents.

And Baron, a 15 month old Great Pyrenees/Border Collie mix, who weighs 85-90 pounds, and is still growing. Imagine all the brains, trainability, and herding from the border, and the regalness, and the psychotic protectiveness some pyre's have, and you get Baron. His littermates are all pretty complacent, laid back, friendly dogs (got him from a rescue I work with), and I got lucky enough to pick out the one that would be psychotically territorial. By the time he was 4 months old, he was teaching Silky how to guard the house sufficiently. Other than that, he's a great dog. Extremely loyal, playful, and obedient, and he's starting to figure out that all people aren't out to get us  ::) :). 

"Anybody who doesn't know what soap tastes like never washed a dog." -Franklin P. Jones
"There is no psychiatrist in the world like a puppy licking your face." -Ben Williams
"The reason a dog has so many friends is that he wags his tail instead of his tongue." -Anonymous

Offline shangrila

• Golden Paws
    • View Profile
Re: Hi! I'm a newbie
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2006, 11:53:18 pm »
Hello Silky & Baron! Welcome to BPO! :)
RIP former BPO

Offline kathryn

• Supreme Drooler
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2006, 11:58:49 pm »
Hi,